USD 249 Frontenac Schools Hall of Fame

Silhouette of anonymous woman on white background

1979 Girls Basketball Team

Inducted 2023

The 1979 girls basketball team, led by John Varsolona, became the first state basketball championship team for the Frontenac Raiders in dominating fashion. Two individuals from the ‘79 team went on to be inducted into the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame. As a team, they were so dominant that they set the state record for the largest margin of victory in a single game by winning 107-6. Their record of 25-0 is a testament to the talent, hard work, and commitment that this entire team portrayed in their championship season of 1979!

The 1979 Girls Basketball Team members include:
Head Coach John Varsolona, Assistant Coach Mindy Kuplen, Kelly Krumsick, Carla Barto, Donna Lipoglav, Connie Lavery, Teresa Belew, Karla Viranda, Leann Brunetti, Angela Kotzman, Dana Zafuta, Carla Proctor, Kelly Krantz, Penne Cherry, and Barbara Barto.